Tuesday, 20 November 2018 08:00

Boating Laws and Regulations in Florida Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

As a marina in Florida, we see a lot of boats set sail and dock each day, which means there’s a lot of people out on the water. Between the large number of boats, swimmers, sea life, and unpredictable weather, it’s critical that boaters know and abide by the boating laws and regulations of the state of Florida. These rules keep people and sea life safe.

Our team at Key West Harbour wanted to share with you some of the current boating laws and regulations in Florida. Keep up with these rules so you’ll keep yourself out of danger and out of trouble!

  • In Florida, you must be certified to drive a boat. If you were born on or after January 1, 1988 or if you have a criminal boating violation or two non-criminal boating violations, you must complete a NASBLA/state-approved boater education course.
  • The minimum operating age is 14.
  • Children under 14 must be accompanied by a person at least 18 years old who has a Boating Safety Education Identification Card.
  • A Florida registration is required for all vessels, except non-motor-powered vessels less than 16 feet long.
  • In Florida, you must register your boat with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
  • Boater’s liability insurance is not required in Florida.
  • The Blood Alcohol Content Limit (BAC) for those 21 years old and over is .08%
  • In most states, children 13 and under must wear a U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jacket on a moving boat unless they are below deck or in an enclosed area.
  • It is not illegal to have open containers of alcohol on a boat, but it is illegal to drink alcohol and drive a boat.

Each time you’re headed out on the water, make sure you’re abiding by the state’s rules. If your boat needs to be registered, don’t take it out until it is. Don’t skip the safety course or forego the license. You want to be driving legally, so you do not get fined. To read a more thorough list, click the Florida boating regulations page.

Dock Your Boat at a Key West Marina

Looking for a place to store your boat? Look no further! Florida Marina Clubs has beautiful, secure marina for you to house your boat called Key West Harbour. Click our Key West Marina page to learn more about our marina location. To contact our Key West marina, call 305-292-3121.  Happy (safe) boating!

*Florida boating rules information provided by Reviews.com

Read 178 times

Facebook

Twitter

Google Plus